2023 Convention Registration Open Print

January 15, 2023

Dear CLA Scholar:

We are excited to return to our first in-person College LanguageAssociation (CLA) Convention since 2019! We are working closely with our Host Institution, Emory University, to bring you the 81st Annual CLA Convention, April 5-8, 2023, in Atlanta, Georgia, with the theme of “Rage, Resilience, and Response.” Our Banquet’s Keynote Speaker is Pulitzer Prize winner Jericho Brown, author of The Tradition, and we are excited to share a host of other exciting events and opportunities at this special Convention.    

Some of the exciting events at our upcoming 2023 CLA Convention in Atlanta include, the aforementioned Banquet Keynote Address by Jericho Brown, Zumba with Dr. C B. Bailey, the annual President’s Reception, visits to the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library at Emory, the Silverbell Pavilion, the Auburn Avenue Research Library, The Center for Civil and Human Rights, the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Park, and the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library, host of the CLA Archives. All of these events and more will provide ample opportunities for us to gather as a CLA family of scholars. 

The Convention Hotel is the Westin Atlanta Perimeter North located at 7 Concourse Parkway NE, Atlanta, GA 30305, and the special CLA Convention Rate is $125/night through March 15, 2023.  Please book your hotel room at the special group rate here, but if you prefer to make a reservation by phone, call 1-888-627-8407.  Remember that all presenters must be members of CLA and must have registered for the Convention no later than March 15, 2023.  Please use the 2023 CLA Convention Registration Form to register. 

Please visit the 2023 CLA Convention Website for information and updates. Finally, we are really looking forward to seeing you at the 2023 CLA Convention in Atlanta! In the meantime, we encourage you to visit the CLA website and to take part in CLA Member Circle Presents, our regularly programmed virtual events. 


José Manuel Batista, Ph.D.
Vice President & Chair of the Program Committee
[email protected]

Janaka Lewis, Ph.D.
English Area Representative
[email protected]

George Palacios, Ph.D.
World Languages Representative
[email protected]