Committees

Clément A. Akassi, President
Department of World Languages and Cultures
Howard University
2441 6th Street, NW, Locke Hall 330
Washington, D. C. 20059
202-806-4590 (office)
240-481-3978 (cell)
202-806-6760 (fax)
cakassi@howard.edu
animankrindjaboclement@yahoo.fr

 

harper

Donna Akiba Harper, Vice President
Department of English
Spelman College
Box 745
350 Spelman Lane, S. W.
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-270-5588 (office)
404-270-5581 (fax)
dharper@spelman.edu

 

bessDr. Reginald A. Bess, Secretary
Department of English and Modern Languages
South Carolina State University
Turner Hall D Wing Office# 351
Orangeburg, SC 29117
803-536-8827 (Office)
803-533-3804 (Fax)
rbess@scsu.edu

 

 

Yvonne E. McIntosh, Assistant Secretary
Department of English and Modern Languages
Florida A & M University
214 Tucker Hall
Tallahassee, FL 32307
850-599-3430 (office)
850-561-2290 (fax)
yvonne.mcintosh@famu.edu

 


westElizabeth J. West, Treasurer
Department of English
University Plaza
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-413-5866 (office)
404-413-5830 (fax)
ewest@gsu.edu

 

Mario A. Chandler, Assistant Treasurer
Oglethorpe University
4484 Peachtree Rd., N.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30319
404-364-8382 (office)
678-698-4312 (cell)
404-228-2562 (fax)
mchandler@oglethorpe.edu
mariochand@gmail.com

 


Sharon Jones, English Area Representative
Professor, Department of English Language and Literatures/Director, African and African
Wright State University
144 Millett Hall
Dayton, Ohio 45435-0001
(937) 681-7057
sharon.jones@wright.edu

 

 

 


pettwayMatthew Pettway, Foreign Language Area Representative
Department of Hispanic Studies and Latin American Studies Program
College of Charleston
66 George Street
Charleston, SC 29424
843-953-2376 (Office)
248-765-3005 (Cell)
pettwaymj@cofc.edu

 

d_williamsDana A. Williams, Immediate Past President
Department of English
Howard University
2441 6th Street, N.W.
248 Locke Hall
Washington, D. C.. 20059
202-806-6730/5371 (office)
202-806-6731(fax)
d_williams@howard.edu

 

shannonSandra G. Shannon, Editor
CLA Journal and Special Publications
Howard University
Department of English
2441 6th Street, N.W.
230 Locke Hall
Washington, D.C. 20059
202-806-5443 (office)
editor@clascholars.org

Archives


Dr. Dolan Hubbard
Morgan State University
Dolan.hubbard@morgan.edu

Awards


Dr. Warren J. Carson
University of South Carolina, Upstate
wcarson@uscupstate.edu

Black Studies


Dr. Thabiti Lewis
Washington State University, Vancouver
thabiti@wsu.edu

CLA & Historically Black Colleges


Dr. Preselfannie McDaniels
Jackson State University
Preselfanie.w.mcdaniels@jsums.edu

CLA & Historically White Colleges


Ms. Xavia Harrington-Chate
University of Southern Indiana
xdharringt@usi.edu

Constitution


Dr. Dana A. Williams
Howard Universiry
d_williams@howard.edu

Creative Writing


Rae Paris
Michigan State University
rparis@msu.edu

Curriculum: English


Dr. Aaron Oforlea
Washington State University
aoforlea@wsu.edu

Curriculum: Foreign Languages


Dr. Leroy T. Hopkins, Jr.
Millersville University
leroy.hopkins@millersville.edu

Membership


Dr. Yvonne McIntosh
Florida A & M University
Yvonne.mcintosh@famu.edu

Research


Dr. Venetria Patton
Purdue University
vpatton@purdue.edu

Nominations


Dr. Geneva Baxter
Spelman College
gbaxter@spelman.edu